National Day (2013)

The National Day of the Central American Republics, September 15, was celebrated jointly by the embassies of Guatemala, El Salvador and Nicaragua on Monday 16 September at the Konstnärshuset.

From the 16th century through 1821, Central America formed the Captaincy General of Guatemala, sometimes known also as the Kingdom of Guatemala, composed by a part of the state of Chiapas (nowadays Mexico), Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Officially, the Captaincy was part of the Viceroyalty of New Spain and therefore under the supervision of the Spanish viceroy in Mexico City. It was, however, administered not by the viceroy or his deputies, but by an independently appointed Captain General headquartered first in Antigua Guatemala and later in Guatemala City.


photo 1-B

The Ambassador of Guatemala, Mr Ricardo Putzeys, the Ambassador of El Salvador, Mr Martin Rivera, and the Chargé d’affaires of the Nicaraguan Embassy,  Mr Francisco Chavarria


Photo 6


Mrs Beatriz Ramirez de Putzeys (spouse of the Ambassador of Guatemala ), Mrs Patricia Guirola De Rivera (spouse of the Ambassador of El Salvador), Dr Sophie Ekman and Mrs Unnur Ulfarsdóttir (spouse to the Ambassador of Iceland)






Nordic-Baltic Honorary Consuls meeting (2011)

The first Nordic-Baltic Honorary Consuls meeting was organized in Helsinki May 13-15 and hosted by the Helsinki Consular Corps. It gathered altogether forty-four honorary consuls (from eight countries) who, besides networking, had the opportunity to meet with prominent Finnish personalities, high representatives of the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the diplomatic corps in Helsinki.

The Honorary Consul of Guatemala in Stockholm Margareta Eidensten meets with president Tarja Halonen in Helsinki

The program offered speeches by the president of Finland, Mrs. Tarja Halonen and the ex-president and Nobel Peace Prize winner, Mr. Martti Ahtisaari. There were also presentations of the Vienna Convention of Consular Relations and the consular organisations in the eight countries in the Nordic and Baltic region.

The picture  from left to right:  Honorary Consul General Lars Nystén (Uruguay); Dean of the Helsinki Consular Corps and honorary consul General Gaius Gyllenbögel (Indonesia), President Tarja Halonen and Honorary Consul of Guatemala Margareta Eidensten (Stockholm)

Honorary consul Margareta Eidensten meets with the Nobel Peace Prize winner and former president Martti Ahtisaari in Helsinki (CC konferens Helsingfors 2011 )

Acredited for the Kingdom of Sweden, Kingdom of Denmark, Kingdom of Norway, Finland and Baltic Countries